Types de soutien

Il existe de nombreux types de soutien auxquels peut faire appel une personne qui a été victime de violence. Certains sont officiels; d’autres, informels. Pour s’aider à guérir, une personne peut s’adresser à beaucoup de gens, par exemple ses pairs, ses amis, sa famille, des aînés, un groupe religieux ou communautaire, ou encore elle peut faire de l’activisme communautaire. Vous trouverez ci-après la description de certains types de soutien officiels offerts en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle

Si l'agression ou les agressions ont eu lieu dans les cinq derniers jours, la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée peut avoir accès aux services d'une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle. Ces infirmières autorisées ont suivi une formation poussée qui leur permet d'apporter un soutien confidentiel sans jugement ainsi que de pratiquer des examens médicaux et de recueillir des preuves médicolégales. Les personnes de tout genre (femme, homme, trans, non binaire, etc.) peuvent avoir accès à ces services.

Une personne peut souhaiter être vue par une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle pour : le traitement de lésions physiques, un test de grossesse, un test de dépistage des ITS et, au besoin, le début d'un traitement ainsi que la collecte de preuves pour la police. 

Des preuves ne seront recueillies qu'à la demande de la personne qui a été agressée. La victime ou la personne agressée a six mois pour décider si elle veut que les preuves soient transmises à la police. 

Vous pouvez avoir accès aux services d'une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle dans les établissements suivants : 

Région d'Halifax
IWK Health Centre
Centre des sciences de la santé QEII
Hôpital général de Dartmouth 
Centre de santé communautaire Cobequid

Ou appelez le 902-425-0122

Région d'Antigonish/de Strait
Hôpital régional St. Martha's
Hôpital régional de Strait
Centre de santé pour femmes Lindsay's
Centre de ressources pour les femmes et Association des services aux victimes d'agression sexuelle d'Antigonish 
Centre de santé et de consultation de St. Francis Xavier

Ou appelez le 1-877-880-7263

Comtés de Lunenburg et de Queens
Hôpital général de Queens
Hôpital Fishermen's Memorial
Hôpital régional de la Côte-Sud 
Centre pour femmes Second Story
Maison Harbour

Quand on se rend dans un des hôpitaux susmentionnés et qu'on dit avoir subi une agression sexuelle, le personnel appelle une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle et vous emmène dans une chambre individuelle. L'infirmière arrivera entre 45 et 90 minutes après l'appel. Elle ne fera pas intervenir la police si la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée ne le demande pas. Toutefois, si cette personne est âgée de moins de 16 ans, l'infirmière est obligée de signaler la situation au ministère des Services communautaires.

Il faut savoir que l'ensemble de la procédure prend environ deux à quatre heures. La victime ou la personne qui a été agressée peut également se faire accompagner par une personne qui lui apporte du soutien pendant l'examen. Il est préférable – mais pas indispensable – qu'elle vienne directement à l'hôpital sans prendre de douche et sans se changer, pour préserver les preuves médicolégales. Si elle en a l'occasion, elle peut apporter des vêtements de rechange afin de pouvoir prendre une douche et se changer après l'examen. 

La victime ou la personne qui a été agressée a le droit de mettre fin à l'examen à tout moment, pour quelque motif que ce soit.

Centres d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle

Vous souhaiterez peut-être appeler un des trois centres d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle en Nouvelle-Écosse ou vous y rendre.

Ces centres ont pour mandat d'apporter du soutien aux victimes ou aux personnes qui ont subi des violences sexuelles, d'éduquer le public et de s'efforcer de mettre fin à la violence à caractère sexuel dans notre société. Ils sont dotés d'un personnel professionnel formé et expérimenté. 

Les centres offrent un large éventail de services et d'aides, notamment : 

  • Accès à une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle (Avalon et Antigonish uniquement)
  • Information et aiguillage
  • Consultations individuelles gratuites
  • Thérapie de groupe gratuite 
Halifax Centre d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle Avalon Consultations réservées aux femmes et aux personnes trans
Antigonish Centre de ressources pour les femmes et Association des services aux victimes d'agression sexuelle d'Antigonish Consultations réservées aux femmes et aux personnes trans
Truro Centre d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle de Colchester Consultations pour tous les genres

 

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'habiter dans les régions susmentionnées pour accéder à ces services.

Centre de santé sexuelle

Une victime ou une personne agressée qui choisit de ne pas être vue par une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle peut cependant souhaiter avoir accès à des soins médicaux. Si la personne se trouve dans la région d'Halifax ou peut s'y rendre, elle peut aller au Centre de santé sexuelle d'Halifax. Tous les services du centre sont gratuits pour les titulaires d'une carte de santé valide de la Nouvelle-Écosse ainsi que pour les Canadiens des autres provinces qui ont une carte de santé valide (les résidents du Québec doivent payer et se faire rembourser).

Le centre fournit entre autres les services suivants : examen pelvien, contraception d'urgence (pilule du lendemain), test de grossesse, tests de dépistage et traitement des infections transmissibles sexuellement (ITS); test VIH anonyme et consultation sur les options en matière de grossesse, y compris l'aiguillage vers des services d'avortement. 

Le centre fournit des soins confidentiels, universels et respectueux de la diversité en affichant une attitude pro-choix et positive envers l'expression de la sexualité, les jeunes et la communauté arc-en-ciel. 

Sydney, Stellarton, Amherst, Sheet Harbour et Bridgewater ont également des centres de santé sexuelle qui peuvent fournir des renseignements, du soutien et des services d'aiguillage, mais qui n'offrent pas de services cliniques.

Déclaration à la police

Après une agression, la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée peut choisir de déclarer les faits à la police. Au Canada, il n'y a pas de limite dans le temps (délai de prescription) pour la déclaration d'une agression sexuelle. Chaque personne a des raisons différentes et valables de déclarer ou de ne pas déclarer les faits à la police. 

Il est important de ne pas exercer de pressions sur la personne à qui vous apportez du soutien pour qu'elle fasse ou s'abstienne de faire une déclaration à la police. 

Si la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée est vue par une infirmière examinatrice des cas d'agression sexuelle, elle a la possibilité de subir un examen médicolégal lors duquel l'infirmière recueille des preuves. Ces preuves peuvent être transmises immédiatement à la police ou conservées pendant six mois, le temps que la personne qui a été violentée prenne une décision concernant une éventuelle déclaration à la police.

Si la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée choisit de déclarer les faits de violence sexuelle à la police, la police prendra d'abord une déposition. Il faut savoir que cette déposition est filmée et que la vidéo sera la « déclaration officielle » de la personne devant le tribunal concernant les faits de violence sexuelle. Cependant, la déclaration filmée ne dispense pas la personne de l'obligation de témoigner au tribunal. La victime ou la personne qui a été agressée peut se faire accompagner au poste de police par une personne qui lui apporte du soutien, mais cette dernière ne peut pas être dans la pièce où la victime ou personne agressée fait sa déposition.

La déclaration et toute communication ultérieure avec la police concernant les faits seront transmises tant au procureur de la Couronne qu'aux avocats de la défense et pourront être utilisées et divulguées au tribunal par l'une ou l'autre partie. 

Avant de faire leur déposition, certaines personnes choisissent de demander l'avis d'un avocat concernant (par exemple) la déclaration à la police ou pour savoir à quoi elles peuvent raisonnablement s'attendre. 

Il faut noter que c'est la police qui porte les accusations et que c'est le procureur de la Couronne qui intente les poursuites. Le procureur de la Couronne est l'avocat qui représente la province au tribunal. Il ne représente pas la victime ou personne agressée. Autrement dit, le procureur de la Couronne n'est pas l'avocat de la victime ou de la personne qui a été agressée et cette dernière n'est pas représentée par son propre avocat. La victime ou personne agressée peut prendre un avocat qui lui apporte du soutien et des conseils, mais l'avocat ne la représente pas au tribunal, par exemple lors du procès ou de la détermination de la peine.

En Nouvelle-Écosse, si la victime ou la personne agressée décide qu'elle ne veut pas que des accusations soient portées ou qu'elle veut que des accusations soient retirées, la police et le procureur de la Couronne respectent sa demande et n'intentent pas de poursuites.

Si les faits de violence sexuelle se sont produits récemment, la police recueille elle aussi des preuves, par exemple les vêtements de la personne, des objets qui se trouvent sur les lieux de l'agression et des photos de toute marque ou lésion. Elle peut également interroger tout témoin qui était présent ou qui a des renseignements pertinents. 

La police interroge ensuite la personne qui a commis les violences (qu'on appelle « le suspect » pendant l'enquête et « l'accusé » si des accusations ont été portées). 
L'officier responsable doit communiquer avec la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée tout au long de l'enquête. 

Services aux victimes

Quand une victime ou une personne qui a été agressée déclare des faits de violence sexuelle à la police, elle a le droit d'avoir accès aux services aux victimes, qui apportent du soutien et des services aux victimes de crimes. Si une victime ou une personne qui a été agressée envisage de faire une déclaration à la police, elle peut communiquer avec les services aux victimes pour demander à quoi s'attendre si elle décide de faire une déclaration.

Le programme de services aux victimes du ministère de la Justice apporte également une aide financière pour des services de consultation fournis par des thérapeutes privés agréés aux personnes qui ont été agressées ou victimes de violences dans le cadre du programme de consultation pour victimes d'actes criminels. Le personnel des services aux victimes peut également aider une victime ou une personne qui a été agressée à faire une demande au titre du programme de consultation pour victimes d'actes criminels. 

Les services aux victimes du ministère de la Justice peuvent également fournir ce qui suit à la victime ou à la personne qui a été agressée :
  • Renseignements sur le système de justice pénale
  • Aide pour se préparer à comparaître (y compris la visite d'une salle d'audience)
  • Nouvelles sur l'avancement de sa cause
  • Aide pour demander l'indemnisation de toute perte subie en raison du crime commis contre elle 
  • Aides au témoignage (p. ex. un écran derrière lequel s'asseoir pour témoigner)
  • Aide pour présenter une déclaration de victime
  • Fonds pour se déplacer pour aller lire la déclaration de victime
  • Planification de la sécurité
  • Aiguillage vers d'autres services

Consultez le site Web suivant pour une liste des bureaux de services aux victimes en Nouvelle-Écosse ou reportez-vous à la section « Où obtenir de l'aide? » : http://novascotia.ca/just/victim_Services/contact.asp

Programme de soutien aux victimes mi'kmaq

Le réseau d'aide juridique mi'kmaq est un système d'aide gratuit pour les Autochtones dans le système de justice pénale de la Nouvelle-Écosse. 

Le réseau d'aide juridique mi'kmaq a deux professionnels de l'aide aux victimes autochtones qui peuvent guider la victime ou la personne qui a été agressée tout au long de la procédure judiciaire ainsi que l'aider à se préparer à comparaître et à présenter une déclaration de victime. Un professionnel de l'aide aux victimes est affecté au Cap-Breton et l'autre, à la Nouvelle-Écosse continentale. Il n'est pas nécessaire que des accusations aient été portées pour pouvoir accéder à ces services.

Cap-Breton – 1-877-379-2042
Nouvelle-Écosse continentale – 902-895-1141

Types of Support

There are many types of support that a victim/survivor may draw upon - both formal and informal. There are many ways that people find healing which can include but is not limited to: peer support, friends, family, Elders, traditional ceremonies, spiritual and/or religious communities, and community activism. Below are descriptions of some formal types of support available in Nova Scotia.

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner

If the assault(s) took place within the last five days, the victim/survivor will be able to access the services of a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE). These registered nurses have advanced training in providing non-judgmental, confidential support as well as conducting medical exams and collecting forensic evidence. People of any gender can access this service (woman, man, trans, non-binary people etc.).

A person may want to see a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner to: take care of any physical injuries, test for pregnancy, test for STIs and begin treatment if necessary, and collect evidence for police.

Evidence will only be collected at the request of the person who has been assaulted. The victim/survivor has a minimum of six months to decide if they want the evidence to be transferred to the police.

You can access SANE services by visiting:
Halifax Region
IWK Health Centre
QEII Health Sciences Centre
Dartmouth General Hospital
Cobequid Community Health Centre

Or Call: 902-425- 0122

Antigonish/Strait Region
St. Martha’s Regional Hospital
Strait Regional Hospital
Lindsay’s Health Centre for Women
Antigonish Women’s Resource Centre and Sexual Assault Services Association
St. Francis Xavier Health & Counselling Centre

Or Call: 1-877- 880-7263

Lunenburg and Queens Counties
Queens General Hospital
Fishermen’s Memorial Hospital
South Shore Regional Hospital
Second Story Women’s Centre
Harbour House

When you go to one of the above-mentioned hospitals and tell staff you have been sexually assaulted they will call a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner and take you to a private room. The nurses will arrive between 45 to 90 minutes after being called. A Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner will not involve the police unless requested by the victim/survivor. However, if the individual is under the age of 16, then they are mandated to report to the Department of Community Services.

It is important to know that the whole process takes approximately two to four hours. The victim/survivor can also bring a support person to the SANE exam. It is preferred, but not required, that you come directly to the hospital without showering or changing to preserve forensic evidence. Bring a change of clothes if you can so that you can shower and change following the examination. The victim/survivor has the right to end the examination at any time, for any reason.

Sexual Assault Centres

You may want to call or visit one of three sexual assault centres located in Nova Scotia.

These centres exist to support victims/survivors of sexual violence, educate the public, and work to end sexualized violence in our society. The centres are staffed by trained and experienced professionals.

The centres offer a wide range of services and supports including:
- Access to a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (Avalon and Antigonish only)
- Information and referrals
- Free individual counselling
- Free group therapy
 

Halifax Avalon Sexual Assault Centre Counselling for women and trans people only
Antigonish Antigonish Women’s Resource Centre
and Sexual Assault Services Association (SASA)
Counselling for women and trans people only
Truro Colchester Sexual Assault Centre Counselling for all genders 


You do not have to live in the above-mentioned regions to access these services.

Sexual Health Centre

If a victim/survivor chooses not to see a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner they may still want to access medical care. If the person is located in the Halifax region or can travel to Halifax another option is to visit The Halifax Sexual Health Centre. All of the Centre’s services are provided for free to anyone with a valid Nova Scotia health card as well as to Canadians from another province with a valid health card (Québec residents must pay up front and get reimbursed).

The Centre provides services including (but not limited to): pelvic examinations, emergency contraception (the “morning after pill”), pregnancy testing, tests and treatments for Sexually Transmitted Infection (STIs), anonymous HIV testing, and counselling regarding pregnancy options including abortion referrals.

The Centre provides care that is: confidential, inclusive and respectful of diversity, sex positive, pro-choice, youth positive and rainbow community positive.

Sydney, Stellarton, Amherst, Sheet Harbour and Bridgewater also have sexual health centres and can provide information, support, and referrals but do not offer clinical services.

Independent Legal Advice for Sexual Assault Survivors

This program provides up to 4 hours of free, independent legal advice for victims/survivors who are 16+ years of age who were sexually assaulted in Nova Scotia. Registration is done through an independent agency, 211 Nova Scotia, and participants do not have to report to police or take legal action if they use this service.

Call 211 to register. You do not need to provide details about what happened. You only have to say that you were sexually assaulted in Nova Scotia, and that you would like to speak with a lawyer.

Once you are registered, you will be sent a package with a certificate number for 2-hours of legal advice. Your package will also have a list of participating lawyers. Choose any lawyer on the list and contact them with your certificate number to make an appointment. If more time is needed, call 211 NS and they will send you another certificate number for an 2-hour session of legal advice.

You can choose any lawyer you want from the participating lawyers list. To help you make your choice, there is a biography about each lawyers’ background and experience. All of the lawyers have been screened by the program, have received training, and have agreed to follow the program’s terms. Once you pick a lawyer, you can contact them and give them the number on your 2-hour certificate. This is how they will know that you are part of the program. You can meet with the lawyer in person, by telephone, or through videoconferencing like Skype.

The program was created by Nova Scotia’s Department of Justice, but the Department does not have access to participants’ names or contact information. When the lawyers send in their invoices, they use the certificate number only. The only information that 211 NS will share with the Department of Justice is non-identifying data. This information helps to measure if the program is being used.

To learn more, visit: https://novascotia.ca/sexualassaultlegaladvice/ or call 2-1-1.

Reporting to Police

Following an assault, the victim/survivor may choose to report it to police. In Canada, there is no time limit – or “statute of limitation” – on reporting a sexual assault. Every person has different and valid reasons for reporting or not reporting to police.

It is important that you do not pressure the person you are supporting either to report or not to report.

If the victim/survivor sees a nurse examiner, they have the option to undergo a forensic exam wherein the nurse collects evidence. This evidence can be immediately transferred to police or it can be held for a minimum of six months while the person who was violated decides if they want to report later.

If the victim/survivor chooses to report the sexual violence to the police, the police will first take a statement. It is important to know, that this statement is videotaped and will be used as the person’s “official statement” regarding the sexual violence in court. However, the videotaped statement does not eliminate the need for the person to give testimony in court. The victim/survivor can bring a support person to the police station, but the support person cannot be in the room when the victim/survivor gives their statement.

The statement and any further communication with the police about the event will be disclosed to both the Crown Attorney and the Defence lawyers and can be used/shared in court by either party.

Some people may opt to get legal advice regarding (for example) their statement to police, or what they could reasonably expect, before they report. It is important to note that it is the police who lay charges and the Crown Attorney who pursues those charges. The Crown Attorney is the lawyer who represents the province, not the victim/survivor, in court. This means that the Crown Attorney is not the victim/survivor’s lawyer and the victim/survivor does not get their own lawyer. A victim/survivor can hire a lawyer for support and guidance but they cannot represent you at most court hearings, such as Trial and Sentencing.

In Nova Scotia, if the victim/survivor decides that they do not want charges laid or that they want charges withdrawn, the police and/or the Crown Attorney will respect their request and not proceed with the charges.

If the sexual violence happened recently, the police will also collect evidence, which could include the person’s clothes, items from the location in which the assault took place and pictures of any marks or injuries. They may also interview any witnesses who were present or have relevant information.

The police will then question the person who perpetrated the violence (called “the suspect” during the investigation and the “accused” if charges are laid). The officer in charge should communicate with the victim/survivor throughout the investigation.

Victim Services

When a victim/survivor reports the sexual violence to police they are entitled to access Victim Services, which offers support and services to victims of crimes. If a victim/survivor is considering reporting to the police, they can contact Victim Services to get information about what to expect if they do decide to report. The Department of Justice (DOJ) Victim Services program also provides financial support for counselling, provided by approved private counsellors, for victim/survivors of violence through the Criminal Injuries Counselling Program. Victim Services staff can also help a victim/survivor apply for the Criminal Injuries Counselling Program.

The Department of Justice- Victim Services can also provide the victim/survivor with:
- Information about the criminal justice process
- Assistance preparing for court (including courtroom tours)
- Updates on their case
- Help applying for recovery of any losses that they have suffered because of the crime committed against them
- Testimonial aids (ex. a screen to sit behind while giving testimony)
- Assistance submitting a victim impact statement
- Funds for travel to read their victim impact statement
- Safety planning
- Referrals to other services

Visit this website for a list of the Victim Service offices in Nova Scotia or refer to our “Where to Get Help” section.

Mi’kmaw Victim Support Services

The Mi’kmaq Legal Support Network is a support system free of charge for Aboriginal people involved in Nova Scotia’s criminal justice system.

The Mi’kmaw Legal Support Network has two Aboriginal Victim Support Workers who can guide a victim/survivor throughout the court process, help them prepare for court, and assist with victim impact statements. One Support Worker serves Cape Breton and one mainland Nova Scotia. Charges do not have to be laid in order to access services.

Cape Breton – 1-877- 379-2042
Mainland NS - 902-895- 1141